What's the largest tuna fish ever caught?

The world record for a bluefin stands just shy of 1,500 pounds and it was caught in 1979 off Nova Scotia, the division said. Bluefin is the biggest kind of tuna and is a migrating fish that can live for as long as 40 years. The Atlantic bluefin tuna is the largest bluefin species.