Why do dogs scratch furniture?

Dogs may scratch at furniture for a variety of reasons. If a dog detects an odor of food on a piece of furniture, they may scratch to try to uncover it. Dogs may also scratch at a particular spot in order to warm it or make it more comfortable for sleeping.