What's the difference between flapjacks and pancakes?

In the US, there is no difference between the two. In the UK, pancakes are made from thin batter made of milk, butter, flour and eggs which is then cooked on both sides on the pan whereas flapjacks are made from a mixture of oats, sugar, butter and syrup which is then tray baked in the oven.

---

The basic difference is where the're made and served. Some parts of the country call them flapjacks and in others they're known as pancakes.