How long is the average dream?

The average dream lasts approximately 10-20 minutes, but is often shorter in the beginning of the night and longer towards its end. Also, on average we may experience (or be unaware of) 5-10 dreams per night.

---

How long is the average dream? The length of a dream can vary; they may last for a few seconds, or approximately 20–30 minutes. People are more likely to remember the dream if they are awakened during the REM phase.