Where did chicken cordon bleu come from?

Cordon bleu, or "Blue Ribbon" derives from the German-speaking portion of Switzerland in the 1940's as a cheese-stuffed schnitzel. Chicken Cordon Bleu in the USA dates at least to the late 1960's and means chicken wrapped around or stuffed with cheese, then breaded and fried.