What are the statues outside the new york public library?

The twin lions were originally called Leo Astor and Leo Lenox, after Library founders John Jacob Astor and James Lenox. Later, the (male) lions were known as Lady Astor and Lord Lenox. In the 1930s they were renamed Patience and Fortitude for the qualities people needed in the Great Depression.