When was barbie made?

March 9, 1959 the first Barbie doll went on display at the American Toy Fair in New York City. Eleven inches tall with a waterfall of blond hair, Barbie was the first mass-produced toy doll in the United States with adult features. The woman behind Barbie was Ruth Handler who co-founded Mattel Inc