What happens if you microwave a pickle?

The microwave energy will turn enough of the water inside the pickle into steam that the pressure will build up. Meanwhile, the skin of the pickle will not let any of that steam out and and is tough enough to contain the pressure until it gets high enough to cause the pickle to explode.