Is a truffle considered a mushroom?

A truffle is a type of mushroom - not to be confused with a chocolate truffle. The mushroom truffle is rare and very sought after, therefore they are very pricey and are commonly found is high end restaurants.

---

Yes, it is a subterranean type of fungus like a mushroom, but grows between tree roots.