What is the latin root for smart?

The word smart is of West Germanic, rather than Latin origin. The West Germanic root passed on to Old English was smeortan. s, m, e, o, r, t, a, n. Latin words with similar meaning would be sapiens; intelligent; or urbanus; witty.