How long does it take for a dog to digest something?

Usually, your dog will digest dry dog food within eight to 10 hours of eating it, and wet dog food within four to six hours of eating it. According to Pet Health Network, if your dog has ingested something he perhaps should not have had, it can take 10 to 24 hours for him to excrete it.