How is lightening caused?

Lightening is the result of difference in electrical charge between the sky and earth. When the difference overcomes the resistance of the atmosphere a "leader" travels from earth into the sky. In the instant the leader is 'connected' to both areas of opposing charge a great surge flows to earth.