How do you fix over salted food?

Depending on the food: Use a splash of an acidic ingredient, like a mild all-purpose vinegar, apple cider vinegar, white wine vinegar, or lemon juice to cut saltiness of soups and sauces. Or temper excess salt with the addition of fatty ingredients, such as sour cream, heavy cream, butter, or milk.