How many miles does a crow fly?

Birds in the corvus family (which includes crows, ravens, and rooks) have been observed to fly as far as 100 miles in a day, but science has no clear answer on distance habits. The idiom "as the crow flies" describes the straight-line distance between two points, disregarding surface terrain.