What is a crood?

The word crude, spelled C-R-U-D-E, means (of language, behavior, or a person) offensively coarse or rude. It also means (of an action) showing little finesse or subtlety and as a result unlikely to succeed. The animated movie The Croods was about a neanderthal family, who were coarse & unsubtle.