How do you breathe polar bears in minecraft?

Polar bears cannot breed and cubs' growth cannot be sped up. Players should bring along several fish, preferably salmon, for each bear they wish to tame. Feed the polar bear the salmon, and then keep doing so until hearts appear above their heads. Once the hearts pop up, the bear is tamed.