What are the five yama's?

The 5 yamas ask practitioners to avoid violence, lying, stealing, wasting energy, and possessiveness, while the 5 niyamas ask us to embrace cleanliness and contentment, to purify ourselves through heat, to continually observe our habits, and to surrender to something greater than ourselves.