Why did a. j. cook leave criminal minds?

AJ Cook was fired from Criminal Minds in season 6 for “creative differences and financial reasons”, according to the show. There was general upheaval and a change of show runner and executive producer. By mid-season #7, Cook returned and continued until the end of the series in 2020.