What do squirrels eat in the winter?

squirrels mainly eat seeds, nuts and flower buds, but also fungi and chestnuts. The type of food they eat will vary depending on the season. Before winter arrives, squirrels will store food in many places around their habitat and will return to these caches during the winter months.