Is there such thing as a rowan tree?

Yes, there is. Bane of witches, diviner of the future and producer of jam, rowan is an elegant tree with a mystical history. Its leaves and berries are a favourite for wildlife in woods and towns alike. Each leaflet is long, oval and toothed. These trees can live for up to 200 years.