How did michael boomber make his money?

He began at Salomon Brothers then formed his own Bloomberg LP, a global financial, software and mass media firm with a computer system providing finance data to global networks. As of February 2020, he is the 9th richest US person and the 12th-richest in the world; his net worth is $61.8 billion.