What was y. two k. with computers?

Y2K or “Year 2000 Problem” refers to a worldwide computer bug that was caused by poorly coded date formatting which used two digits, rather than the typical four digit year format. As a result when New Year’s Day 2000 hit, the date on a computer would increment from “99” to “00”.