How did america acquire hawaii?

On Jan. 17, 1893, Hawaii's monarchy was overthrown when a group of businessmen and sugar planters forced Queen Liliuokalani to abdicate. The coup led to the dissolving of the Kingdom of Hawaii. Two years later, Hawaii was annexed as a U.S. territory.