What kind of sound does a porcupine make?

Porcupines make a lot of different noises. When they feel threatened they clack their teeth and fan out their quills. Depending on what they're doing they can also whine, grunt, shriek and howl. Some of the sounds they make sound like bird calls so you may have heard a porcupine without knowing it.