What is the earliest generation?

The first officially categorized generation is The Lost Generation, also known as the "Generation of 1914" in Europe, to describe those who fought in World War I. The Lost Generation is defined as the cohort born from 1883 to 1900 who came of age during World War I and the Roaring Twenties.