Why don't onions make you cry?

Chopping onions releases a chemical lachrymatory factor that can irritate your eyes. There are several ways to avoid this reaction. Use a very sharp knife and chill the onion for a few minutes in the freezer before cutting. Sometimes wearing goggles or even contact lenses can lessen the reaction.