Why don't onions make you cry?

Chopping onions releases a chemical lachrymatory factor that can irritate your eyes. There are several ways to avoid this reaction. Use a very sharp knife and chill the onion for a few minutes in the freezer before cutting. Sometimes wearing goggles or even contact lenses can lessen the reaction.

---

The "Sunion" is a sweet, crunchy new crossbreed of onion that won't make you cry when slicing and dicing it. What makes us tear up when we cut onions is a compound called lachrymatory-factor synthase, which forms sulfuric acid when it contacts the water in your eyes. Sunions don't do that.