What's the difference between a green onion and a chive?

The Scientific Differences Scientifically speaking, chives belong to the genus and species of Allium schoenoprasum, while green onions belong to the genus and species of Allium fistulosum. Those facts, in and of themselves, create an authentic difference between these two onion-type foods.