What does foot hold mean?

A foot hold refers, literally, to placing a foot on firm ground, usually to climb up a hill or rockface, OR, to brace in a stable position so as not to be pushed over. Figuratively, getting a firm foothold, means to get a solid start on a project, or to begin to make progress on something like a job