What is big ben called big ben?

There are two common stories behind the name of the bell in the tower of London. One, it was named after Sir Benjamin Hall, the first commissioner of works, a large man known as "Big Ben". The second is that it was named after a heavyweight boxing champion at that time, Benjamin Caunt.