What is flight matic mean?

The Flight-O-Matic was used on Studebaker Cars & Trucks equipped with Automatic Transmission from 1956 to 1966 that were not ordered with the Optional H.D. Floor Shift. The shift pattern is: P N D L R, handy for rocking out of Mud and Snow because it allows a R to L shift without losing time & RPM.