How old do you have to be to do gymnastics in the olympics?

Currently, per the 1997 regulation, gymnasts must be at least 16 years of age, or turning 16 within the calendar year, to compete in senior-level events. For the current Olympic cycle, in order to compete in the 2020 Olympics, a gymnast must have a birth date before January 1, 2005.