How deadly are scorpions?

Only around 25 of the 1,500 species of scorpions can deliver stings that are fatal to humans. Most of these potentially lethal scorpions can't kill healthy adults. Nevertheless, their neurotoxins can cause symptoms such as convulsions and shortness of breath.