When were m. p. three players made?

When were m.p. three players made? In 1987, with a project named EUREKA project EU147, Digital Audio Broadcasting center began researching high-quality, low bit-rate audio coding. Fraunhofer-Gesellshaft now owns the licensing and the patent rights of the MP3.