Where does well water come from?

There are 2 kinds of wells. Conventional wells are holes dug to below the water table. Their bottoms fill up as water seeps in from the surrounding soil. Artesian wells - or springs - are where water us under pressure underground and is forced to the surface. This water can come from far away.