Is blue cheese moldy?

Yes, blue cheese is ripened using cultures of Penicillium mold.

---

Yes. Blue cheese is a general classification of cheeses that have had cultures of the mold Penicillium added so that the final product is spotted or veined throughout with blue mold that carries a distinct smell, either from that or various specially cultivated bacteria.

---

It is composed of edible mold.