What does it mean if garlic is purple?

Garlic contains anthocyanins, water-soluble pigments that can turn blue or purple under acidic conditions. This is a condition that is prominent with immature garlic but can differ among cloves within a single head of garlic. If the clove is solid it is good to go, if it is soft, it is bad