How do you deep vein a shrimp?

Chill the shrimp first to just above freezing, then after removing the shell, run a paring knife along the back to the depth of the vein. Spread the tissue open on the wider head-side along the incision and using your fingers, a knife or toothpick, scrape the vein lightly and pull it out.