Where did the grilled cheese originate?

Evidence indicates that, in the U.S., the modern version of the grilled cheese sandwich originated in the 1920s when inexpensive sliced bread and American cheese became readily available. According to foodtimeline.org, John Montagu, fourth Earl of Sandwich invented the sandwich.