What was the purpose of the manhattan project?

President Truman authorized the use of the atom bombs in an effort to bring about Japan's surrender in the Second World War. In the days following the bombings Japan surrendered. The Manhattan Project was the US government program during World War II that developed and built these first atomic bombs