Why is fire island called fire island?

The name of Fire Island first appeared on a deed in 1789. Historian Richard Bayles suggested that the name derives from a misinterpretation or corruption of the Dutch word vijf ("five"), or in another version vier ("four"), referring to the number of islands near the Fire Island inlet.