Why do sharks have black eyes?

The black part of an eye or pupil is actually a hole that lets in light so you can see. A shark's eyes look very black because there is not a lot of light underwater, so their pupils have to open up wide to be able to see well. It's like your pupil gets bigger when you're in a dark room.