How long does it take to get over tonsillitis?

Most cases of viral tonsillitis resolve within 7-10 days with watchful waiting. When treated with antibiotics, strep throat can be cured most of the time with a single course of antibiotics, and individuals will begin to feel better within 24-48 hours.