What is the original emoji?

There first Emoji Set contained 90 characters and was released in 1997. It included the Smiley Face and Poop Emoji. Early emojis were based on emoticons, which used text as pictographs. The first emoticion was created by Scott Fahlman in 1982. It was a smiley face made using a colon and parentheses