Is dextrose a sugar?

Dextrose is a type of simple sugar made from corn. It is similar to fructose and chemically identical to glucose, which is blood sugar. Simple sugars, including dextrose, fructose, and glucose, appear in foods such as table sugar, honey, and bread.