What is b. h. a.?

BHA stands for beta hydroxy acid. AHAs are water-soluble acids made from sugary fruits. They help peel away the surface of your skin so that new, more evenly pigmented skin cells may generate and take their place.

---

BHA (butylated hydroxyanisole) and BHT (butylated hydroxytoluene) are widely used by the food industry as preservatives, mainly to prevent oils in foods from oxidizing and becoming rancid. The National Toxicology Program has concluded that BHA “is reasonably anticipated to be a human carcinogen".