What is the history of potatoes?

The earliest recorded trace of the spud was found in the Peruvian Andes at around 6000BC. Research implies that communities of hunters initially came to the South American continent 7000 years before harvesting wild potato plants. They have been a staple food, globally, for thousands of years.