What's in an anti pasta salad?

Americans often believe antipasto means a dish served before a pasta course. Though, in fact, this may sometimes be the case, it isn't the real meaning of the term. Literally, the word “antipasto” is derived from the Latin root “anti” meaning “before” and “pastus,” which means “meal.”