Who originally sang sea of love?

The Twilights originally sang ‘Sea of Love’. It is credited to Phil Phillips of The Twilights but he claims he only ever received US$6,800 for recording it.

---

Sea of Love was originally sung by Phil Phillips in 1959. In 1984, Robert Plant's The Honeydrippers recorded the song, which peaked at #3 on the Billboard Hot 100. Others that have covered the song include Del Shannon and Tom Waits.