Where do tornadoes happen?

Most tornadoes are found in the Great Plains of the central United States. An ideal environment for the formation of severe thunderstorms. In this area, known as Tornado Alley, storms are caused when dry cold air moving south from Canada meets warm moist air traveling north from the Gulf of Mexico.

---

Most tornadoes are found in the Great Plains of the central United States, an ideal environment for the formation of severe thunderstorms. In this area, known as Tornado Alley, storms are caused when dry cold air moving south from Canada meets warm moist air travelling north from the Gulf of Mexico.