Why do cats open their mouth after they smell something?

When they discover an interesting scent, they open their mouths as they try to identify the aroma. ... As your cat considers the scent, she sucks in air and transfers it to a Jacobson's organ, also known as the vomeronasal sac, which can be found behind the teeth in the roof of a cat's mouth